Important Update: Calorie Count will be shutting down on March 15th. Please click here to read the announcement. Data export is available.

I'm an ethical vegan who has soy, gluten and corn allergies. What can I eat?
Asked by anonymous on Jan 04, 2011 in Health Conditions

I have a metabolic disease that affects my thyroid, not unlike 20 million American's, and I have lots of problems with my metabolism and energy levels.  So, aside from food allergies and various food intolerances, such as dairy, I find my options are very limited.  I am so confused by my limitations that I now have no idea what's left for me to eat. 


You can eat fruit, vegetables including potatoes, beans and legumes (but not soy), nuts and seeds, rice and other grains that do not contain wheat, rye, barley or corn, such as quinoa, buckwheat, amaranth, and cassava. You should stay away from packaged food and develop recipes to meet your dietary restrictions. Even though your choices are few, you still need to eat enough to reach your daily calorie and nutrient requirements. If you were not vegan, you could eat meat, fish and poultry, eggs, and lactose-reduced dairy products. (You said you have lactose intolerance and not a milk allergy.) For help with diet planning and interpreting test results, visit a registered dietitian.

Join Calorie Count - It's Easy and Free!